This year's gala evening will honor Tony®-nominated and OBIE-winning playwright and acclaimed "The Walking Dead" actress Danai Gurira; as well as Tony®-nominated and Olivier Award-winning theatrical producers Stephen C. Byrd and Alia Jones-Harvey; and the Vilcek Foundation, led by Rick Kinsel.

Danai Gurira is a playwright and actress who received a 2016 Tony Award® nomination for Best Play for Eclipsed. Her other plays, including Familiar, The Convert and In the Continuum, have earned her OBIE and Drama Desk Awards for playwriting. Also an acclaimed actress, Gurira is perhaps best known for her starring role as 'Michonne' on AMC's global phenomenon "The Walking Dead." Among her humanitarian work, Gurira serves as an ambassador for the ONE Campaign and its Poverty is Sexist platform.

Stephen C. Byrd and Alia Jones-Harvey hold the distinction of being the only African-American lead producers on Broadway. Together they comprise Front Row Productions, which aims to bring a unique brand of diversity to Broadway and London's West End, both onstage and off, evidenced by their Olivier-winning production of Cat on a Hot Tin Roof in London's West End (also on Broadway) starring James Earl Jones; and most recently by their acclaimed, 5-time Tony®-nominated production of Danai Gurira's Eclipsed starring Academy Award® winner Lupita Nyong'o.

The Vilcek Foundation, led by Rick Kinsel, is dedicated to raising awareness of immigrant contributions to the arts and sciences. Based in New York City, the organization aims to support immigrants from all over the world, working in a wide array of the arts. In addition to awarding annual prizes, the Foundation has also previously published American Odysseys, an anthology of contemporary immigrant authors and collaborated with the Hawaii International Film Festival to produce an annual showcase of immigrant filmmakers.

We hope you will join us in celebrating this year's incredible honorees along with the work that TCG and its member organizations continue to accomplish.

Click here to purchase tickets, tables, and ads in the gala journal.


MAIL or FAX an RSVP Form with payment to:

Theatre Communications Group
2016 Gala Evening
520 8th Avenue, 24th Floor
New York, NY 10018
Fax: 212.609.5901

Please make checks payable to Theatre Communications Group.

For more information please contact:
Meredith Cappel at 212.609.5931 or