TCG Delegation Joins Record-Breaking Arts Advocacy Day in Washington, DC

Members of TCG's delegation at Arts Advocacy Day 2017 en route to a Hill visit. From left: Marshall Jones III, Producing Artistic Director, Crossroads Theatre Company; Laurie Baskin, Director of Research, Policy & Collective Action, Theatre Communications Group (TCG); Greg Cooper, Education and Collective Action Associate, TCG; Teresa Eyring, Executive Director, TCG; Francine Reynolds, TCG Board Member & Artistic Director, New Stage Theatre; Vicki Willman, Director of Development, Contemporary American Theater Festival (CATF); and Gaby Tokach, Public Relations Manager, CATF

Posted March 29, 2017

March 20 and 21 marked the 2017 National Arts Advocacy Day, which was the largest ever with 700 advocates participating from across the country. TCG was once again a National Co-Sponsor and brought a delegation of TCG Board Members and field representatives from Contemporary American Theater Festival (West Virginia), Goodman Theatre (Illinois), Crossroads Theatre Company (New Jersey), and New Stage Theatre (Mississippi).

Strategic preparation: Laurie Baskin leads an advocacy training session on support for the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) for over 500 participants from around the country.

We advocated for funding for the NEA, arts education, and cultural exchange; preservation of the full value and scope of the charitable tax deduction; timely processing for visas for artists from abroad; and protection of wireless microphones used in theatre.

At the office of Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL). From left: Teresa Eyring; Kate Welham, Senior Director, Institutional Giving and Development Operations, Goodman Theatre; Francine Reynolds; Greg Cooper; Laurie Baskin; Marshall Jones III; Lakeisha Steele, Legislative Aide to Senator Durbin; Vicki Willman; Marissa Ford, Special Projects Associate, Goodman Theatre; Gaby Tokach

Our team met with Senator Thad Cochran (R-MS), Chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee, and staffers in the offices of Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Senator Roger Wicker (R-MS), Senator Cory Booker (D-NJ), Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL), Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV), Senator Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Representative Frank Pallone (D-6-NJ), and Representative Adriano Espaillat (D-13-NY).

With Senator Thad Cochran (R-MS), Senate Committee on Appropriations Chairman
From left: Laurie Baskin, Gaby Tokach, Greg Cooper, Marissa Ford, Marshall Jones III, Francine Reynolds, Sen. Thad Cochran, Vicki Willman, Teresa Eyring, Kate Welham