2010 TCG National Conference - TCG Awards

National Funder Award | Regional Funder Award | Theatre Practitioner Award | Peter Zeisler Memorial Award | Visionary Leadership Award


The annual TCG Awards are a vital part of acknowledging unyielding commitment and artistic contributions to the theatre field. Since 2001 the TCG Awards have saluted extraordinary dedication to the American theatre community.

Nominations for these awards come from leaders of TCG member theatres, affiliate members and other theatre service organizations   These honors will be presented again at the 2010 TCG National Conference in Chicago.

TCG strives to cultivate and celebrate the artistic talent and achievements of the theatre field and promote a larger public understanding of and appreciation for the theatre. It is up to the TCG community to call our attention to artists and funders who are shaping the theatre field and leading it into the future. Each TCG member theatre is urged to nominate one honoree in each award category. There are several criteria in thinking about nominations: TCG Awards to theatres and theatre practitioners recognize sustained and exemplary service to the larger field. TCG Awards to donors recognize sustained achievements, reinforcing the importance of giving and encouraging others to emulate noteworthy giving programs. Recipients are selected by a committee of TCG’s board of directors from the pool of nominees.

TCG National Funder Award: Susan Smith Blackburn Prize

Presented By: Jennifer Nelson, Director of Special Programming, Fords Theatre/TCG Board Member

Accepted By: Alex Kilgore, Susan's nephew and the President of the Board of the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize

The National Funder Award recognizes a small, midsize or large company or foundation that has evidenced leadership and provided outstanding sustained national support of theatre in America. Previous recipients include: The Boeing Company; Time Warner, Inc.; Humana Inc./the Humana Foundation; Target; AT&T and Altria as well as the Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Shubert Foundation, the Wallace Foundation; the Nathan Cummings Foundation; and

The Boeing Company.

TCG Regional Funder Award: the Joyce Foundation

Presented By: Rosalba Rolon, Artistic Director, Pregones Theatre/TCG Board Member

Accepted By: Michelle T. Boone, Senior Program Officer, the Joyce Foundation

The Regional Funder Award recognizes a local funding organization that has evidenced leadership and has provided outstanding sustained support of theatre(s) in the region in which the conference is being held. This award honors a funder in a different region each time it is given, as the conference location rotates. The 2010 award will honor a funder based in the Chicago area. Previous Recipients: The Morris & Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation(Washington, DC); Denver Metro Scientific & Cultural Facilities District; Metropolitan Atlanta Arts Fund; ArtsFund (Seattle, WA); Jerome Foundation (Minneapolis, MN); Travelers’ Foundation (St. Paul, MN); the Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (Denver, CO);

 The Morris & Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation (Washington, DC).

TCG Theatre Practitioner Award: Bernard Gersten

Presented By: Jeff Woodward, Managing Director, Syracuse Stage/TCG Board Member

Accepted By: Jenny Gersten, daughter of Bernard Gersten

The Theatre Practitioner Award recognizes a living individual - artist or administrator, institutionally affiliated or unaffiliated - whose work in the American theatre has evidenced exemplary achievement over time and who has contributed significantly to the development of the larger field. While the award was originally designed to honor an individual, nominations for an ensemble, collective or partnership will be considered in cases in which joint/collective contribution makes it difficult to pinpoint the primacy of a single individual.

This award is meant to recognize a living practitioner and cannot be given posthumously. Recipients include: Peter Culman, René Buch and Gilberto Zaldívar, Zelda Fichandler, Maria Irene Fornes, Woodie King, Jr., Ming Cho Lee, Elizabeth LeCompte, Lloyd Richards, Ellen Stewart, William Swetland, Luis Valdez, and

Peter Culman.

Peter Zeisler Memorial Award: Jack Reuler

Presented By: Kate Warner, Artistic Director, New Repertory Theatre/TCG Board Member

Accepted By: Jack Reuler, Artistic Director, Mixed Blood Theatre

The Peter Zeisler Memorial Award recognizes an individual or organization whose work reflects and promotes the ingenuity and artistic integrity that Peter Zeisler, late executive director of TCG, prized. The honorees exemplify pioneering practices in theatre, are dedicated to the freedom of expression and are unafraid of taking risks for the advancement of the art form. In honor of Peter’s uncanny ability to introduce talent to the rest of the field, the nominees should not have been recognized nationally for their work. The previous recipients of this award are Elevator Repair Service, Mildred Ruiz and Steven Sapp, The Foundry Theatre, Will Power and Elevator Repair Service.

The TCG Visionary Leadership Award: Bill Rauch

Presented By: Megan Wanlass Szalla, Executive Director, SITI Company/TCG Board Member

Accepted By: Bill Rauch, Artistic Director, Oregon Shakespeare Festival

The TCG Visionary Leadership Award was a new addition at last year's award ceremony. This award is given to an individual who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to advance the theatre field as a whole, nationally and/or internationally. Nominations for this award will be accepted for both practicing professionals and volunteers, and while the award is envisioned to go to an individual, nominations will be accepted for teams who have provided strong leadership for the field. Possible recipients of this award are individuals who regularly think beyond their day-to-day work in order to implement practices, new models, advocacy efforts, etc. on behalf of the field. Last year's inaugural recipient was Todd London.

If you have any questions about nominations, please contact Jenni Werner, National Conference Director, 212-609-5900.


pendik escort ------------