2011 TCG National Conference - TCG Awards

The annual TCG Awards are a vital part of acknowledging unyielding commitment and artistic contributions to the theatre field. Since 2001, the TCG Awards have saluted extraordinary dedication to the American theatre community. Nominations for these awards come from leaders of TCG member theatres, affiliate members, and other theatre service organizations These honors will be presented at the 2011 TCG National Conference in Los Angeles.

TCG strives to cultivate and celebrate the artistic talent and achievements of the theatre field and promote a larger public understanding of and appreciation for the theatre. It is up to the TCG community to call our attention to artists and funders who are shaping the theatre field and leading it into the future. Each TCG member theatre is urged to nominate one honoree in each award category. There are several criteria in thinking about nominations: TCG Awards to theatres and theatre practitioners recognize sustained and exemplary service to the larger field. TCG Awards to donors recognize sustained achievements, reinforcing the importance of giving and encouraging others to emulate noteworthy giving programs. Recipients are selected by a committee of TCG's Board of Directors from the pool of nominees.

The 2011 TCG National Funder Award:

The National Funder Award recognizes a small, midsize, or large company or foundation that has evidenced leadership and provided outstanding sustained national support of theatre in America. Previous Recipients: Altria, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, AT&T, the Boeing Company, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, the Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, the Humana Inc./the Humana Foundation, the Nathan Cummings Foundation, the Shubert Foundation, the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize, Target, Time Warner, Inc, and the Wallace Foundation.

Presented by: Diane Rodriguez, Associate Producer, Center Theatre Group

Accepted By: Brad and Louise Edgerton, The Edgerton Foundation

The Edgerton Foundation, directed by Brad and Louise Edgerton, gives plays in development an extended rehearsal period for the entire creative team, including the playwrights. Launched in 2007, the foundation has awarded 130 plays, to date. Forty eight plays have gone on or been scheduled to have subsequent productions following their world premieres.

Back to Top

The 2011 TCG Regional Funder Award:

The Regional Funder Award recognizes a local funding organization that has evidenced leadership and provided outstanding sustained support of theatre(s) in the region in which the conference is being held. This award honors a funder in a different region each time it is given, as the conference location rotates. The 2011 award will honor a funder based in the Los Angeles area. Previous Recipients: Denver Metro Scientific & Cultural Facilities District, Metropolitan Atlanta Arts Fund (Seattle, WA), the Morris & Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation (Washington, DC), Jerome Foundation (Minneapolis, MN), Joyce Foundation (Chicago, IL), the Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (Denver, CO), Travelers' Foundation (St. Paul, MN).

Presented by: Paul Tomei

Accepted By: The James Irvine Foundation

The James Irvine Foundation is a private, nonprofit grantmaking foundation dedicated to expanding opportunity for the people of California to participate in a vibrant, successful and inclusive society. Since 1937 the Foundation has provided over $1 billion in grants to more than 3,000 nonprofit organizations throughout California.

Back to Top

TCG Theatre Practitioner Award:

The Theatre Practitioner Award recognizes a living individual - artist or administrator, institutionally affiliated or unaffiliated - whose work in the American theatre has evidenced exemplary achievement over time and who has contributed significantly to the development of the larger field. While the award was originally designed to honor an individual, nominations for an ensemble, collective, or partnership will be considered in cases in which joint/collective contribution makes it difficult to pinpoint the primacy of a single individual. This award is meant to recognize a living practitioner and cannot be given posthumously. Previous Recipients: René Buch and Gilberto Zaldívar, Peter Culman, Zelda Fichandler, Maria Irene Fornes, Bernard Gersten, Woodie King, Jr., Ming Cho Lee, Elizabeth LeCompte, Lloyd Richards, Ellen Stewart, William Swetland, and Luis Valdez.

Presented by: Oskar Eustis, Artistic Director, Public Theater

Accepted By: Gordon Davidson

Gordon Davidson is the founding artistic director of Center Theatre Group. He led the Mark Taper Forum throughout its first 38 seasons, guiding over 300 productions to its stage and winning countless awards - including the Tony Award for theatrical excellence. Under his leadership, two of the Taper's plays, The Kentucky Cycle and Angels in America, received the Pulitzer Prize in Drama. In 1989 he also became Artistic Director of the Ahmanson Theatre and in 2004 of CTG's newest space - the Kirk Douglas Theatre in Culver City.

Back to Top

Peter Zeisler Memorial Award:

The Peter Zeisler Memorial Award recognizes an individual or organization whose work reflects and promotes the ingenuity and artistic integrity that Peter Zeisler, late executive director of TCG, prized. The honorees exemplify pioneering practices in theatre, are dedicated to the freedom of expression, and are unafraid of taking risks for the advancement of the art form. In honor of Peter's uncanny ability to introduce talent to the rest of the field, the nominees should not have been recognized nationally for their work. Previous recipients: Will Power, Jack Reuler, Mildred Ruiz and Steven Sapp, Elevator Repair Service, and The Foundry Theatre.

Presented by: Marshall Jones

Accepted By: Daniel Beaty

Daniel Beaty is an award-winning actor, singer, writer, and composer who just completed an extended off-Broadway run of his solo play Through the Night produced by Daryl Roth, which Beaty received the 2010 AUDELCO Award for Outstanding Solo Performance and the 2010 Ovation Award for Best Male Lead Actor.

Back to Top

The TCG Visionary Leadership Award:

The TCG Visionary Leadership Award was a new addition at the 2009 conference. This award is given to an individual who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to advance the theatre field as a whole, nationally and/or internationally. Nominations for this award will be accepted for both practicing professionals and volunteers, and while the award is envisioned to go to an individual, nominations will be accepted for teams who have provided strong leadership for the field. Possible recipients of this award are individuals who regularly think beyond their day-to-day work in order to implement practices, new models, advocacy efforts, etc. on behalf of the field. Recipients have included Todd London and Bill Rauch.

Presented by: Megan Wanlass, Executive Director, SITI Company

Accepted By: Martha Coigney

Martha Coigney served as Director of the U.S. Center of the International Theatre Institue from 1966 to 2003, and was an essential part of the incorporation of ITI into TCG. From 1987 to 1995 she was President of Worldwide ITI. In 1995 she was awarded UNESCO's Picasso Medal and was made Honorary President of ITI for life.

Back to Top

If you have any questions about nominations, please contact Cari Smulyan, Event Coordinator, 212-609-5900 ext.270.

pendik escort ------------